A GIS is a “group of scientific interest” that connects researchers who are affiliated with existing research units in French universities and abroad. These units support the GIS through a financial contribution, and the GIS supports the actions proposed by its steering committee within the framework of the proposed themes.

The SOFEIR is not intended to develop specific scientific projects: as a learned society and associative structure (Loi 1901), its role is to ensure the circulation of information, to connect Irish studies scholars in France through the organization of its annual conference, and thanks to its links with other learned societies in France (SAES, AFEA) and abroad (EFACIS, IASIL). It supports symposia and scientific activities and offers scholarships for mobility or research to Masters, PhDs and Postdoc students.

The objective of the GIS is to provide a scientific project and to focus on the study of selected topics over a short period of 3 or 4 years.

It promotes networking among researchers in Irish studies throughout France. Over the past decade, a number of projects have arisen, aiming to promote networks in France, from masters’ projects, to initiatives to  federate structures at academic level (Paul Brennan, Catherine Maignant). The current diplomas and curricula or the reconfiguration  of research teams as well as the dwindling funding of research in the humanities, and in particular the funding of doctorates, have made these synergies difficult.

The GIS EIRE thus reaffirms the relevance of Ireland as a field of research in the light of the recent (political, economic, cultural, artistic and societal developments that have affected it, but also considering the evolution and renewal of critical paradigms, methodologies and technologies.

This project has the support of the Minister of State for the Diaspora and International Development, Ciarán Cannon TD, and of HE Patricia O’Brien, Ambassador of Ireland in France.

See DFA.

Find out about the research themes.

Un GIS est un « groupement d’intérêt scientifique » qui permet de relier des chercheurs par ailleurs affiliés à des unités de recherche existantes dans les universités françaises. Ces unités apportent leur soutien au GIS par une contribution financière, et le GIS soutient des actions proposés par son comité de pilotage dans le cadre des thèmes proposés.

Par ailleurs la SOFEIR n’a pas vocation à développer des projets scientifiques précis : en tant que société savante et structure associative (loi 1901), son rôle est d’assurer la circulation des informations, d’assurer les liens entre irlandistes français à travers l’organisation de son colloque annuel, ainsi que les liens avec les autres sociétés savantes en France (SAES, AFEA) et à l’étranger (EFACIS, IASIL). Elle apporte son soutien à des colloques et des activités scientifiques et offre des bourses pour mobilité ou recherche aux Master, doctorants et Post-doctorants.

L’objectif du GIS est l’étude de thématiques ciblées sur une période courte (2-4 ans).

Il favorise le travail en réseau entre chercheurs en études irlandaises disséminés à travers toute la France, et souvent isolés dans des équipes de recherche englobantes. Ce constat a donné lieu dans le passé à plusieurs projets : masters multi-sceaux, recherche d’une structure fédérative (Paul Brennan, Catherine Maignant). Les nouvelles structures des diplômes ou des équipes de recherche et le faible financement de la recherche en ALL-SHS, et en particulier le financement des doctorats, rendent ces synergies difficiles.

Le GIS EIRE réaffirme la pertinence de notre domaine de recherche, renouvelée au vu des évolutions les plus récentes qui l’ont affecté : évolutions politiques, économiques, culturelles, artistiques et sociétales, mais aussi évolution et renouvellement des paradigmes critiques, des méthodologies et des approches théoriques mises en œuvre pour les étudier.

Ce projet est soutenu par le Secrétaire d’Etat pour la Diaspora et le développement international (The Minister of State for the Diaspora and International Development), Ciarán Cannon TD et par SE Patricia O’Brien, Ambassadrice d’Irlande en France. Voir le site du Ministère :  DFA.


1st GIS EIRE symposium, Fri 18 – Sat 19 January 2019

Models and Networks : Democracy, Human Rights and Diasporic Strategies in Ireland

Université Paris 3- Sorbonne Nouvelle, Maison de la Recherche, Paris

Contact : Pr Sylvie Mikowski, sylvie.mikowski{at]univ-reims.fr